2013 Ranji Trophy Round-up: Sunny day in Haryana

Sunny Singh scored 63 for Haryana

Group A

Haryana Vs Mumbai

Rohtak: Resuming from their overnight score of 100/4, Mumbai were bowled out for 136, after Joginder Sharma ran amok taking 5/16. Ajinkya Rahane was the lone batsman who staged a fight with a half-century. Haryana fared better than they did in the first inning, finishing with 224/9. Sunny Singh top-scored with 63, while Zaheer Khan and Vishal Dhabolkar took four wickets each.

Day 2: Haryana 224/9 (Sunny Singh 63, Jayant Yadav 45, Rahul Dewan 44, Zaheer Khan 4/59, Vishal Dabholkar 4/54) and 134 all out, lead by 222 runs, against Mumbai 136 all out (Ajinkya Rahane 51, Dhawal Kulkarni 25, Joginder Sharma 5/16)

Punjab Vs Odisha

Mohali: Centuries from Taruwar Kohli (109*) and Mandeep Singh (116*) saw Punjab finishing with 306/2, after finishing on 11/0 on day one. Openers Jiwanjot Singh (18) and Ravi Inder Singh (50) were the batsmen who walked back to the dressing room.

Day 2: Punjab 306/2 (Mandeep Singh 116*, Taruwar Kohli 109*), lead by 101 runs against Odisha 205 all out (Govind Podder 42, Harbhajan Singh 6/54)

Vidarbha Vs Gujarat

Nagpur: Half-centuries from Smit Patel (73) and Parthiv Patel (65) helped Gujarat finish with a total of 304 all out. Shrikant Wagh was Vidarbha’s best bowler taking 4/71. Responding to the 219-run lead, Vidarbha finished with 87/1

Day 2: Vidarbha 87/1 (Faiz Fazal 48, Amol Ubarhande 6) and 85 all out against Gujarat 304 all out (Smit Patel 73, Parthiv Patel 65, Shrikant Wagh 4/71, Sumit Ruikar 3/49)

Jharkhand Vs Delhi

Jamshedpur: No play was possible on day two as well because of rain at the Keenan Stadium.


Group B

Services Vs Tamil Nadu

Palam: Baba Aparajith’s 203 powered Tamil Nadu to 456/7 declared. R.Prasanna (74*) and Dinesh Karthik (48) too chipped in with tidy contributions. At stumps, Services were 17/0.

Day 2: Tamil Nadu 456/7 declared Vs Services 17/0

Madhya Pradesh Vs Railways

Indore: Satyam Choudhary’s unbeaten 239 powered Madhya Pradesh to 510/6 declared, from their overnight score of 282/3. Mohnish Mishra (97) and Devendra Bundela (66) were the other successful batsman for M.P. In response, Railways were 46/1 at stumps

Day 2:
Madhya Pradesh 510/6 declared (Satyam Choudhary 239*, Mohnish Mishra 97, Devendra Bundela 66) against Railways (46/1)

Saurashtra Vs Rajasthan

Resuming from their overnight score of 226/2, Saurashtra continued from where they left off against Rajasthan. Sagar Jogiyani walked back after making 133, but Chirag Jani (64) and Aarpit Vasavada (49) did well to take the hosts to 475/7 at stumps.

Day 2: Saurashtra 475/7 (Sagar Jogiyani 133, Chirag Jani 64, Shitanshu Kotak 65, Romesh Powar 4/177) against Rajasthan.

Bengal Vs Baroda

Eden Gardens:
Play called off because of wet playing conditions on day two.


Group C

Tripura Vs Maharashtra

Pune: Yogesh Takawale smashed 125 as Tripura were bowled out for 304. In response, Rohit Motwani’s side trail by 171 runs.

Day 2: Tripura 304 all out (Yogesh Takawale 125, Timir Chanda 43, Sachin Chaudhari 4/44) against Maharashtra 133/1 (Harshad Khadiwale 64*, Vijay Zol 42*)

Himachal Pradesh Vs Goa

After a controversial start to the match, Himachal Pradesh registered a mammoth total of 543/5 riding on Paras Dogra’s double century.

Day 2: Himachal Pradesh 543/5 (Paras Dogra 208*, Rishi Dhawan 89, Bipul Sharma 86*) against Goa

Assam Vs Kerala

Guwahati: Niraj Patel top-scored with 82 as Assam were bowled out for 323 by Kerala. Vinoop Manoharan finished with figures of 3/49. In reply, Kerala finished with 119/3 at stumps.

Day 2: Assam 323 all out (Niraj Patel 82, Syed Mohammed 40, Sibsankar Roy 36) against Kerala 119/3 ( Sanju Samson 46*, Nikhilesh Surendran 46, S.Mohammed 1/29)

Hyderabad Vs Andhra

Hyderabad: They finished with 44/2 on day one, only to be bowled out for 221 on the second day, with Hanuma Vihari top-scoring with 75. In response, Andhra trail by 136 runs.

Day 2: Hyderabad 221 all out (Hanuma Vihari 75, Amol Shinde 52, Syed Sahabuddin 4/45) against Andhra 85/1 (Prasanth 32*, Suresh 17*)