Part sand hills, part swamp the SCG, one of the world’s premier grounds was used as a rubbish dump in the 1850s and it was only in 1924 that the ground got its modern name. In 1851, it was granted to the British Army for use as a garden and cricket ground for the soldiers. But with consistent development, the ground could boast two grandstands by February 1882- the Brewongle Stand at the southern end and the original Members Stand. On opposite sides of the ground to the stands, two spectator mounds were built. They became known as The Hill and the Paddington Hill. In 1886, the Members’ Pavilion was rebuilt. The Sydney Cricket Ground, which was followed by the opening of the Hill Stand, situated between The Hill and the Paddington Hill. It became known as the Bob Stand during the Depression years because it cost one shilling (a bob) to enter. The first SCG scoreboard was built in the two weeks leading up to the 1895-1896 inter-colonial match between New South Wales and Victoria. In 1896, the Ladies stand was opened. But the ground can best be remembered for the exploits of the great Sir Don Bradman who represented New South Wales and Australia on this ground, on a number of occasions. Night cricket came to the SCG in 1978 with the first World Series Cricket match to be played at the SCG on the November 28. The first test was played here between Australia and England in 1882 and the first ODI between the same teams on January 13, 1979.