KPL Match 26: Shamanoor Davangere Diamonds won by six wickets

cricket blogs for Yahoo Cricket Columns

Diamonds beat Maharajas by six wickets to finish the tournament with eleven points. Put into bat, Mysore team managed to total 122 for 9 in its 20 overs and failed to defend it.


Their innings was built around the useful contributions from C Raghu {25} and skipper CJ William {37 not out}.


C Raghu opened the innings in the place of out of form KB Pawan who batted lower down the order.


Controlled and disciplined bowling by skipper SB Joshi {2 for 17} and DC Rajesh {2 for 30} restricted Mysore's total.


Diamonds reached the target losing four wickets.


Opening batsman PU Deshpande was amongst runs again by scoring 51 not out while MA Agarwal made 27.


The openers added 49 runs for the first wicket in 7.2 overs. PU Deshpande forged useful stand of 22 runs with YKT Goud for the third wicket and 28 runs with BN Bharath for the fourth wicket which hastened Diamond's victory.


C Raghavendra bowled well for the losers to bag 2 for 19.


Summarised scores : Mysore Mahaarajas 122 for 9 in 20.0 overs {CJ William 37 not out, C Raghu 25, SB Joshi 2 for 17, DC Rajesh 2 for 30} lost to Shamanoor Davanagere Diamonds 124 for 4 {PU Deshpande 51 not out, MA Agarwal 27, C Raghavendra 2 for 19} by six wickets.