KPL Match 20: Mysore Maharaajas won by four wickets

cricket blogs for Yahoo Cricket Columns

Put into bat, Panthers struggled against a disciplined bowling by Maharaajas bowlers and made a none-too-comfortable 122 for 9 in 20 overs.


Panthers were off to a good start by inform openers J Arun Kumar and KS Ponnappa who put on 40 runs for the first wicket. But after the departure of J Arunkumar, wickets fell at regular intervals.


None of the Panthers batsmen were able to forge useful partnerships after the fall of the opener J Arunkumar. J Arunkumar {25} and KS Ponnappa {22} are the only two batsmen who scored 20 plus runs.


AB Sagar {2 for 35}, T Muthanna {2 for 17}, AA Kazi {2 for 12} and CS Rahavendra {1 for 19} not only shared the wickets that fell to bowlers but also restricted the Panthers to score freely by sticking to the basics of bowling – line and length.


Maharaajas in their chase had a good opening stand of 51 runs between KB Pawan and HTS Rao. Useful contributions from N Bille {24} ad S Manager {21} hastened Mysore’s victory. S Hoover with his 2 for 19 was the most successful bowler for Panthers.


Summarised scores: Belgavi Panthers 122 for nine in 20 overs {J Arunkumar 25, KS Ponnappa 22, A Sagar 2 for 35, T Muthanna 2 for 17, AA Kazi 2 for 12}  lost to Mysore Maharaajas 124 for 6 in 19,0 overs {KB Pawan 31, HTS Rao, 26, AA Kazi 24, N Bille 21, S Hoover 2 for 19} by four wickets.