IPL Match No 58: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders

cricket blogs for Yahoo Cricket Columns

YK Pathan became the second batsman in IPL to score seventy plus sixes after AC Gilchrist. YK Pathan's 70th six was his first six of his innings of A Mithun. At the end of this game he has scored 72 sixes. AC Gilchrist has scored 71 sixes. Thus YK Pathan holds the record for most sixes in IPL with 72 sixes to his credit.


YK Pathan scored his tenth six in IPL 2011 when he hit CH Gayle for his second six of his innings. He became the 17th batsman to score ten or more sixes in IPL 2011.


YK Pathan was playing his 50th innings in IPL in this game. He became the eighth batsman to play 50 plus innings in IPL. Others are - AC Gilchrist {57}, SK Raina {56}, JH Kallis {54}, RG Sharma {53}, Yuvraj Singh {53}, G Gambhir {51} and V Sehwag {50}. JH Kallis's and G Gambhir's figures include the innings they played in this game.


Rain interrupted the game when Kolkata score card read 69 for 3. The game was stopped at 4.57 PM and was resumed at 6.15 PM - a total of 78 minutes were lost. The game was reduced to 19 overs a side under Duckworth Lewis Method.


Further rains prevented the start of the game. The game was resumed at 7.00 PM. Thus a total of 123 minutes were lost. The game was reduced to 13 overs a side.


As Kolkata had already played 11 overs before the interruption of rain, they played two more overs and added 20 runs for the loss of one wicket. Bangalore was set a target of 102 runs in 13 overs for a win under Duckworth Lewis Method.


CK Langveldt with his two wickets in this game took his tally of T20 wickets to 96. Other bowlers who have captured more than 96 wickets in T20 games are - DP Nannes {134}, JA Morkel {127}, AC Thomas {122}, Yasir Arafat {112}, SL Malinga {110}, AJ Hall {101}, Shahid Afridi {98} and M Muralitharan {97}.


CH Gayle's first boundary four of his innings gave him a total of 402 runs in IPL 2011. He became the second batsman in IPL 2011 to score 400 plus runs after V Sehwag who has scored 424 runs. At the end of this game, CH Gayle has an aggregate of 436 runs. He now holds the record for most runs in IPL 2011.


CH Gayle with his two sixes in this game has now 32 sixes, which is a record for most sixes in a single edition of IPL. The previous record was 31 sixes held by ST Jayasuriya of Mumbai in 2008 edition.


CH Gayle with his 38 runs in this game has an aggregate of 1975 runs in T20 games and requires 25 more runs for his 2000 T20 runs.


Bangalore has achieved most consecutive wins in an edition of IPL with this win which was its seventh consecutive win. Mumbai and Jaipur had carved six consecutive wins in the 2008 edition.