IPL 2011 : Match No 36 : Kochi Tuskers Kerala vs Delhi Daredevils

cricket blogs for Yahoo Cricket Columns

V Sehwag scored 80 runs in this game which represents his second fifty in IPL 2011. His other fifty was his 77 against Mohali at Delhi on 23.04.11.  He became the 14th batsman to score two or more fities in IPL 2011.

His knock represents the 49th occasion of a batsman scoring fifty in IPL 2011. It also represents the 24th occasion of an opening batsman scoring and the ninth occasion of a batsman batting at number two scoring a fifty in IPL 2011.  His knock represents the eighth occasion of a Delhi batsman registering a fifty in IPL 2011.

V Sehwag's aggregate of boundary fours stood at 36 - a record for most boundary fours by a batsman in IPL 2011. He scored eight fours in this game. He went past PC Valhaty who had scored 33 boundary fours.

V Sehwag scored five boundary sixes in this game and took his sixes aggregate to 11 in IPL 2011. Other batsman to score ten or more boundary fours in IPL 2011 are – Yuvraj Singh {13} : CH Gayle {12} : PC Valthaty {12} : RA Jadeja {11} : V Kohli {11} and MK Tiwary {11}. Yuvraj Singh holds the record of most sixes by a batsman in IPL with 13 sixes to his credit. He earned the distinction in the match between Pune  and Bangalore at Bangalore on 29.04.11.

V Sehwag with his five sixes in this game has an aggregate of 74 sixes in T20 games. His five sixes in this game provide the eighth occasion of a batsman scoring five or more sixes in IPL 2011.

V Sehwag's 80 in this game represent his ninth fifty in IPL. He became the ninth batsman in IPL to score nine or more fifties. Others are – JH Kallis {13} : SE Marsh {10} ; SR Tendulkar {10} : RG Sharma {10} : SK Raina {10} : KC Sangakkara {09} : G Gambhir {09}  and AC Gilchrist {09}.

V Sehwag's eight fours in this game gave him an aggregate of 153 boundary fours. He became the fifth batsman in IPL 2011 to score 150 plus boundary fours. Others are – SR Tendulkar {181} : G Gambhir {162} : AC Gilchrist {158}  and JH Kallis  {154}.

R Vinay Kumar returned with figures of 1 for 41 in this game to provide the 25th occasion of a bowler conceding 40 plus runs in IPL 2011.

Delhi's victory in this game gave its 27th win in IPL. Other teams to win 27 or more games in IPL are – Chennai {30} : Mumbai {28} and Jaipur {28}.