• - Deccan Chargers has played most IPL games at the end of this game - 51. Other teams to play 50 plus games are Chennai {50} and Bangalore {50}.


    - S Sohal's 62 in this game provide the 30th occasion of a batsman scoring a fifty in IPL 2011. It also represents the 17th occasion of an opening batsman and 13th occasion of a batsman batting at number one scoring a fifty in IPL 2011.


    - S Sohal became the second Hyderabad batsman to score a fifty in IPL 2011 after B Chipli. B Chipli had scored 61 against Bangalore at Hyd-RGS on 14.04.11.


    - CL White's T20 run aggregate at the end of this game stood at 1991. He needs nine more runs for his 2000 T20 runs.


    - With a lone six in this game CL White took his aggregate of T20 sixes to 103. He is one of the eleven batsmen who have scored 100 plus sixes in T20 games. The complete list read thus - LRPL Taylor {162}: DJ Hussey {149}: KA Pollard {124}: BB McCullum {123}: JA Morkel {120}: DA Warner {107}: SB Styris {105}: CL White {103}: OA Shah

    Read More »from IPL Match 19: Delhi Daredevils vs Deccan Chargers
  • IPL-IV seems to be quashing all claims of twenty overs cricket being incredibly unpredictable and dreadfully volatile. Where is the unpredictability when 14 out of 18 games (at the time of writing this) have been won by teams chasing?


    Make no mistake by calling it an aberration, for the statistics are too overwhelming to ignore. While the IPL has and is living up to its reputation of setting off regular upsets, especially of underdogs winning a game on their own, this clear trend says a thing or two about IPL hitting its transitional phase.


    Most teams, right at the onset of this season, failed to identify the par score for the wicket and hence found themselves guilty of aiming too high and ending too low. This often happens in a T20 game, for you're never satisfied with what you've achieved and 10-15 runs more always look attainable.


    Most batsmen, at the start of this IPL, believed that since balls are at a premium in T20, it's blasphemous to consume a few deliveries to get their

    Read More »from Changing times for bowlers in IPL
  • Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore completely turned around their wooden spoon performances in the first edition of the Indian Premier League and were the finalists in IPL-2. And, if their performances in the first fourt matches is any indication, it is now the turn of Kolkata Knight Riders to change their fortunes around in IPL-4.

    The Knight Riders were at the wrong end of the points table in the first three seasons apart from being embroiled in controversies galore, as a result of which the team
    management didn't retain a single player and had a clear vision and strategy for the franchise heading into the IPL-4 auction as they paid the big bucks for Gautam Gambhir and Yusuf Pathan. By the end of the auction, KKR also had Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, Eoin Morgan, Shakib Al Hasan, Brad Haddin, Ryan ten Doeschate, Manoj Tiwary and Lakshmipathy Balaji to form the nucleus of their squad. Though KKR lost their first match by two runs to Chennai Super Kings sparking fears of

    Read More »from Change in fortunes for Knight Riders and RCB


(1,347 Stories)




How to subscribe

Roll over each section to subscribe using Add to My Yahoo or RSS Feed feeds.

Yahoo News offers dozens of RSS feeds you can read in My Yahoo or using third-party RSS news reader software. Click here to find out more about RSS and how you can use it with Yahoo News.