• - RT Ponting's 71 in the first innings of the first Test at Mohali against India gave him one more distinction. It was his 40th fifty {20 C plus 20 HC} in the first innings of a Test match and with it the record for most fifties by a batsman while batting in the first innings of a Test match. It is also a record for an Australian batsman in this category of statistics. He went past SR Tendulkar and SR Waugh who had scored 39 fifties. SR Tendulkar's 39 fifties contains 20 C and 19 HC while SR Waugh's 39 fifties contains 17 C plus 22 HC.


    - RT Ponting became the fourth batsman to score 20 half-centuries while batting in the first innings of a Test match. Others are - AR Border of Australia {27}, SR Waugh of Australia {22} and ME Waugh of Australia {22}. This is an all-Australian record.


    - Both SR Tendulkar and RT Ponting have played 80 Tests and 80 innings at the end of Australian first innings in this Test. SR Tendulkar has an aggregate of 5308 runs while RT Ponting has an aggregate

    Read More »from First Test: India vs Australia at Mohali: Day 2 highlights
  • - Australia won the toss in this Test and batted first providing the 34th occasion of Australia doing so in India-Australia Test series. It also provides the 20th such occasions in Tests played in India.


    - This Test is VVS Laxman's 25th Test against Australia. He became the third Indian cricketer to appear in 25 or more Tests against Australia. Others are SR Tendulkar {30} and R Dravid {27}. VVS Laxman went past two other Indian cricketers - GR Viswanath and DB Vengsarkar - who have played 24 Tests against Australia.


    - Mohali Test became RT Ponting's tenth Test in which he has captained Australia against India. He is on par with RB Simpson and SR Waugh who have led Australia in ten Tests against India. Only AR Border with 11 Tests to his credit has led Australia in more Tests against India than these three - RT Ponting, RB Simpson and SR Waugh. Thus, RT Ponting became the fourth Australian captain to lead in ten or more Tests against India.


    - RT Ponting's feat of captaining

    Read More »from First Test: India vs Australia at Mohali: Day 1 highlights
  • The finals provided an anti climax to the tournament. Chasing a modest 113, Provident crashed to the lowest total of the tournament – 68 – leaving Mangalore United victors by 44 runs.


    Mangalore United, who opted to bat first after winning the toss, posted 113 for 9 in 20 overs. Nidhuvan Kumar {20} and KK Nair {21} were the main contributors to the total.


    Nidhuvan Kumar and R Jonathan added 25 runs for the third wicket was the substance of Mangalore's innings.


    Three run outs late in the innings to step up the scoring rate did not help much in Mangalore's innings.


    What followed in the second half of the match was a complete disaster.


    It was a parade of batsmen walking back to the pavilion as the spin duo UB Patel {4 for 11} and KK Nair {4 for 13} mesmerized Provident.


    Provident started well by putting on 32 runs for the first wicket, but the exit of opener MK Manjunath saw them losing the rest of the wickets for the addition of 36 runs.


    Manjunath {14} and VST Naidu

    Read More »from KPL Finals: Mangalore United won by 44 runs


(1,347 Stories)




How to subscribe

Roll over each section to subscribe using Add to My Yahoo or RSS Feed feeds.

Yahoo News offers dozens of RSS feeds you can read in My Yahoo or using third-party RSS news reader software. Click here to find out more about RSS and how you can use it with Yahoo News.