Sample this incident from February.
South Africa are playing Pakistan in the Cape Town Test. Jacques Kallis faces Saeed Ajmal. The ball pops to the short-leg fielder. Pakistan appeal for a catch. Steve Davis gives it out. But Kallis reckons he hasn’t hit it, so he calls for a decision review. TV umpire Billy Bowden looks at replays and concludes that Kallis is right. But then Bowden finds that there’s an LBW on here. The ball has pitched in line, hit Kallis in line and the HawkEye feed shows the ball brushing the leg-stump.
Since the rulebook says that an appeal covers all modes of dismissals, Kallis is given his marching orders, much to his shock. Then, it gets curious.
The ICC steps in to say the umpires have messed up in dismissing Kallis. They say: “The playing conditions state that when the third umpire observes that the batsman could be out by another mode of dismissal, the decision being reviewed using DRS should be as if the batsman had been originally given not out. Read More »from Time to review the reviewers