London, June 9 (IANS/CMC) West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to a charge of misconduct laid by the International Cricket Council (ICC), following his claim for a catch during the Caribbean side's two-wicket win over Pakistan.
Ramdin, the team vice-captain, claimed a low catch off Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq before he had scored, off fast bowler Kemar Roach in the ninth over of the innings Friday, reports CMC.
The decision was referred to the third umpire and replays showed that while Ramdin had initially taken the catch, he did not have full control of the ball before it eventually popped out.
"Ramdin is charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to 'conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game'," an ICC release said Saturday.
Ramdin will now go before a hearing here Monday.
If found guilty, he could face a fine of between half or all his match fee, or suspension from up to two One-Day Internationals.
Misbah went on to finish unbeaten on 96 as Pakistan finished on 170 all out off 48 overs, in their opening Champions Trophy match at the Oval.