Himachal Congress sets up new party panel

Shimla, July 4 (IANS) The Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee Thursday constituted a new executive committee, blending old and new faces.

The new list comprises nine general secretaries, seven vice-presidents and 20 permanent invitees, including Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and union Commerce Minister Anand Sharma.

Official sources said the list cleared by the party's national general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi has tried to maintain a balance between young and experienced leaders.

However, the party is yet to announce the name of secretaries.

Prominent leaders appointed as vice-presidents include former MP Chander Kumar, former cabinet minister Harsh Mahajan, and Gangu Ram Musafir, seven-time legislator.

The list of general secretaries includes former minister Ram Lal Thakur and former legislators Harshvardhan Chauhan and Harbhajan Bhajji.

The panel is adequately represented by leaders belonging to all sections of society including backward classes and minorities, a party leader said.

The young faces in the list include legislators Ajay Mahajan, Ravi Thakur, Rajesh Dharmani, Rohit Thakur, Rakesh Kalia and Mukesh Agnihotri.

The new executive committee would strive to meet the expectations of party president Sonia Gandhi, state Congress chief Sukhvinder Sukhu told IANS.


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.